Click here to join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates as they happen. Unsubscribe any time.

CMP Awards 2008 – The Winners Are…

CMP-Awards-2008 The 2008 Canadian Mortgage Awards are in. 

KMI Publishing put on another first-class awards gala Friday night.  It was tres Hollywood-esque with spotlights, black ties, long gowns, paparazzi, and red carpets. 

Genworth Financial hosted a huge cocktail reception and Breakfast Television‘s Dina Pugliese was the glamorous MC.  All in all, about 450 of the industry’s top professionals were in attendance.

There were 15 winners and each is listed below.  Here also is a complete list of all finalists.  There were very tight races in several categories and every single finalist deserves praise for being recognized and nominated.

1. The GE Money Award for Mortgage Brokerage of the Year (National Network)


2. The CMHC Award for Mortgage Brokerage of the Year (Independent/Non Franchise)

MonsterMortgage, Toronto

3. The Macquarie Financial Award for Mortgage Broker of the Year (National Network)

Laurie Furness, Mortgage Centre Canada (RDM Financial), Mississauga, ON

4. The AGF Trust Company Award for Mortgage Broker of the Year (Independent/Non Franchise)

Vince Gaetano,, Toronto, ON

5. The Merix Award for Best Customer Service from an Individual Office

Don Stoddart, Mortgage Architects, Brampton, ON

6. The Canadian Real Estate Award for Best Newcomer (Individual)

Mathieu McCaie, HLC Home Loans Canada, Dieppe, NB

7. The FirstLine Mortgages Award for Best Newcomer (Mortgage Brokerage Firm)

Dominion Lending Centres

8. The PMI Canada Award for Employer of Choice

HLC Home Loans Canada

9. The Bridgewater Bank Award for Best Advertising

Mortgage Intelligence

10. The Genworth Financial Award for Best Branding

Verico Financial Group

11. The MGIC Canada Award for Best Internet Presence

My Virtual Mortgage Broker (Canadian Mortgage Trends) – Mortgage Architects

12. The Home Trust Award for Alternative Lending Mortgage Broker of the Year

Mario Lepage, Multi-Prets Hypotheques, Gatineau, QC

13. The InterBay Funding Corp Award for Commercial Mortgage Broker of the Year

Dale Bilton, Mortgage Intelligence, Kitchener, ON

14. The AIG United Guaranty Award for Best Industry Service


15. The National Bank of Canada Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Mortgage Industry

Colin Dreyer, president and CEO, Verico Financial Group

Congratulations again to all 2008 nominees and winners!  Till next year…